Manchester City streamroll past Swansea to record 15th straight win

Premier League leaders Manchester City continued their impressive run with a record 15th successive straight win as they put a struggling Swansea side to the sword with an emphatic 4-0 victory.

The Citizens followed up their 2-1 win away at Old Trafford last weekend with a comfortable victory against Swansea at the Liberty Stadium on Wednesday, as they were at their scintillating best against the worst team in the League with a brace from playmaker David Silva, Kevin De Bruyne and Sergio Aguero.

It was an entertaining start from both sides within the first ten minutes, Sergio Aguero had the chance to put the Citizens ahead with a decent effort but his effort could only find the side netting before Lukasz Fabianski produced a top notch save to deny a powerful volley from Danilo.

On the other end, Manchester City goalkeeper Ederson was also called into action as the Brazilian produced a good save to deny Jordan Ayew’s shot from the edge of the box.

However, after series of pressure from the Premier League leaders, the visiors got their lead via Spanish maestro who combined well with Bernardo Silva’s cross from the right hand side to put the Citizens ahead in the 27th minute.

Seven minutes later, the Citizens doubled their lead in the 34th minute courtesy a brilliant free-kick from Kevin De Bruyne. The Belgian playmaker curled in a superb free-kick past Fabianski into the bottom corner after Raheem Sterling was brought down on the left-hand side of the box by Kyle Naughton.

The Pep Guardiola led side continued their dominance in the second half and it took them just seven minutes to score their third of the night. A brilliant combination from Raheem Sterling and David Silva saw the Spaniard score his second of the night after chipping the ball over Fabianski in the 52nd minute.

Sergio Aguero scored his 10th goal of the season in the 85th minute to cap of the Citizens win in style.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *